Worry Or Worship … your choice.

The simple fact is that we all have choices and we will always have choices.

Most often, our choices affect the outcome of our life and, most certainly, the journey of our life.

There is an easy path that many take but it leads to destruction. There is a harder path that fewer take but it leads to life. (Matthew 7:13-14)

There is a way that seems right to most people but it leads to death. (Proverbs 3:12)

We can choose our own way or we can choose a better way.

This way may seem more difficult with fewer pay offs, but I would venture to say it is the best way.

There is no doubt that we do face challenges, struggles and difficulties. I don’t want to make light of them however, we do have choices. We cannot always choose the circumstances but we can choose our reaction to the circumstances and actions within the circumstances.

The choice most often opted for is worry. We worry, thinking we don’t have a choice. This is especially true when we feel there is nothing we can do to change the situation (which is usuallly not true, by the way). We resign ourselves to worry.

There is another choice; a choice we often neglect, ignore or don’t think is an option.

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”(Philippians 4:6-8)

I don’t know why we think worry is better than worship. I don’t understand this line of thinking, although I have taken it to many times. Prayer and worship is better journey to take because the destination is better by far. The destination being peace; real peace that trancends all understanding.

choose-worship

When the circumstances of life are dire; when the challenges are overwhelming; or when the difficulties seem too great to overcome; step back, pray about it and worship. Prayer and worship, according to the Bible, yields more desireable results that worrying. Just think about this for a moment; the choices are:
1) worry which leads to disease, angst and defeat.
2) worship which leads to peace, resolution and victory.

There are many biblical examples of people who had every conceivable right to worry but chose to turn to God in prayer and worship. In doing so, they found that He was more than willing to intervene in their situations.

The one I want to point your attention to is found in 2 Chronicles 20:1-30.

Jehoshophat was a good king who had lead his people well. He had led them to genuinely follow the Lord. He and his people were now facing a life threatening situation. Their enemies had decided it was time to wipe them out. They were surrounded, outnumbered and outgunned. In other words, it looked like the end was inevitable.

Jehoshopaht had a choice to make. The best natural choice was to give up, surrender and hope they let you live. But this king decided to take his case to a higher court; he decide to pray and worship. He gathered his people together, prayed to the Lord and listened. God basicly told them that the Lord would fight for them, go forward and see His hand of salvation.

The thing they did next is what is so amazing. They called the musicians and singers to go to the front lines. Worship is what they chose as their first line of defense against a formidable enemy. Imagine a front line of guitar players and tamborine shakers going to face a battle hungry warriors with nothing but praise and worship to protect them.

They did just that and God showed up in a big way! Confusion and conspiracy spread among the enemy. They picked up weapons against each other and slaughtered themselves. The only thing left for the Israelites to do was to clean up the mess and reap the spoils. The Lord had indeed won the battle!

They made the right choice; they chose worship over worry. If they hadn’t it would have been a whole different story.
Confuse the enemy
Regardless of what you are facing, prayer and worship is a better choice than worry.

I know you are facing challenges; we all do. It’s how we face them that makes the difference.

My suggestion?

Pray about the challenge, worship the Lord as you move forward. You may be amazed at what God will do!

Prayer suggestion:

Lord, you know what I am facing. Lord, I can’t face it on my own. I ask You to intervene and make a way because there doesn’t seem to be a way. I believe you are able and willing. I choose to trust you and not to worry. Lord, I choose to worship you because you are good, trustworthy and powerful. I choose worship today because you are much bigger than my problem. I choose worship over worry. Thank you for your promises of trancendant peace in Christ. In Your Name I pray. Amen.

I’d love to hear from you! Feel free to leave a comment below.

About Jim Williams

I am a happy husband, a proud dad, a privileged pastor and a grateful follower of Christ. I also enjoy the three R's of reading, writing and arithmetic ...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Worry Or Worship … your choice.

  1. Lorrie says:

    Pastor Jim that was awesome!!!!!!!
    I believe in the power of prayer and worship!!! This is a very big part of life.
    Prayer and worship is like a vital organ for my life without it I will die!
    Thanks for sharing Lorriet

  2. Everyone loves what you guys are usually up too.
    This sort of clever work and exposure! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve
    added you guys to my own blogroll.

  3. I’ve been surfing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.

  4. cheats tool Archeage says:

    Hi I am so delighted I foujnd your weblog, I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Bing
    for something else, Anyhow I am here nnow and would just like to ssay thank you for a tremendous post and
    a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at thee minute but I have bookmarked it and also inclded your
    RSS feeds, so when I have time I will bee back to rrad more, Please do keedp up the great work.

Please feel free to share a comment.